Clay County Soil and Water Conservation District

Who We Are:
The Clay County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) is a subdivision of State Government. It is a public body which exercises public powers. It is governed by five supervisors, each a resident of the County, three elected and two appointed. Its staff members are considered to be employees of the county. The district receives its statutory authority from Indiana District Law (Indiana Code IC 14-32)

What We Do:
The Clay County Soil and Water Conservation District provides the public with information, education and technical assistance on soil, water and related natural resource conservation; identifies and prioritizes local soil and water resources concerns; and connects land users to sources of education, technical and financial assistance to implement conservation practices and technologies

Our Mission:
To conserve and improve all natural resources, to preserve the quality of life for present and future generations for the people of Clay County, by using the best technologies and practices available through technical, educational, and financial assistance.
swcd board new
Jennifer Creager-District Coordinator
Laura Stearley-District Technician
Sage Danch-Watershed Coordinator

Mustapha Abouali-NRCS District Conservationist
Dale Walker-ISDA Resource Specialist

Tim Stearley-Chairman
Tanner Persinger

Marshall Knuckolls/Vice Chairman
Matt Mace/Treasurer

Cam Casassa

Associate Supervisors:
Leon Mercer

Sonny Zurcher
Everett McMichael
Pat Wilkinson
David Schoer